5th-August-web
Last year in Ibiza, we had our first experience of the Driftwood boat party, with the Subculture event, featuring Paul Webster, Sneijder and John O’Callaghan. It was just sensationally good, the highlight of the whole trip and thus an absolute must for every trip to the white isle from now on. A smallish boat (chartered by two promoter DJs, Sam Mitcham and Alex Ryan, who are massively into quality trance), some seriously good international DJs, a few dozen die-hard trance aficionados and the sunset over San Antonio bay makes the perfect recipe for an idyllic evening.

And how happy I was when I found out that my favourite DJ, Fadi of Aly & Fila, would be headlining the event when we were due to be in Ibiza this year? Together with Arctic Moon, who we had enjoyed so much when he played in Sydney in February with Indecent Noise and Matt Bowdidge, it felt like the stars were aligning to give us another awesome evening.

20130810-095418.jpg
And apart from the San Antonio sunset, which didn’t play its part, as the clouds drew in before the sun sank to the horizon, it was just as good as I anticipated. Lots of friends, including someone we met on the Subculture boat party last year and fantastic music combined to make it another awesome party and undoubtedly the musical highlight of Ibiza 2013 as far as I’m concerned. It was also great to have the chance to chat to Fadi and his manager, Stuart, about music and the forthcoming Stereosonic tour of Australia, where he will be playing a back-to-back set with John O’Callaghan.

I decided not to take notes of the tunes we heard – mainly I didn’t want to risk my iPhone falling into the Mediterranean! Arctic Moon warmed things up nicely and Fadi played yet another superb set, as I knew he would, closing with Above & Beyond – Home.

Driftwood is such a great party that I can’t recommend it highly enough. Although some may disagree, for my money, it’s the best thing in Ibiza, even compared to the massive productions at Amnesia and Privilege.

