Image
I’d been looking forward to this night since it was first announced about two months earlier that Jaytech would be playing at Voodoo. Although he is a progressive DJ and producer (rather than my favoured uplifting trance), I’ve always been a massive fan of his and I always make a point of seeing him whenever he’s playing in the same city that I’m in at the time. With Dennis Sheperd and Ronski Speed also on the bill, I was hoping that the fact that we were in that fallow period between Christmas and New Year’s Eve would not matter and that Home would be busy and buzzing.

Image
Jaytech’s last few sets in Sydney have been played in the Cave at the Chinese Laundry – the main room at Home is a very different setting and a different crowd too. So it wasn’t completely surprising that the musical style wasn’t what some die-hard Jaytech fans were expecting. But I loved it. The main room was pretty full (I needn’t have worried about this) and responded enthusiastically to the trance-infused electro beats he played. It was certainly a move away from the deeper, progressive sound, but I thought he judged it perfectly for the Voodoo audience. Mixing tunes like Kaskade – Move For Me with tracks from his artist album, Multiverse, such as Stranger (feat. Steve Smith) and Labour Of Love (feat. Nathan Grainger) and Super 8 & Tab feat. Julie Thompson – Your Secret’s Safe, he created a set that built and built to a great finish for a buzzing crowd that was really enjoying the night.

Image
After Jaytech, it was the turn of Dennis Sheperd. His last visit to Sydney had been in May 2012, at the Fake Club, where he had (at least for my money) been completely overshadowed by the amazing Menno de Jong. This time he kept the Home dance floor packed with tunes like Tiësto – Flight 643 and his own big tunes: Dennis Sheperd & Cold Blue – Freefalling and Dennis Sheperd & Cold Blue feat. Ana Criado – Fallen Angel. I missed a chunk of the set while chatting with friends in a side room, but what I heard was good, without being anything truly special.

The production at Voodoo nights is always impressive and this night was no exception. Lasers, smoke, lights and visuals that really complement the music. I was a bit taken aback by the hiked bar prices (even though this was not a public holiday, I was told that holiday pricing applied regardless), but the service was swift and friendly, as it usually is at Home.

Image
Last up was Ronski Speed, the German DJ whose collaboration with John O’Callaghan – Sincerely JORS, was one of my tunes of the year. I don’t think he played it however, as he seemed happy to play the commercial trance sound that I’m usually bored by. He played Gareth Emery – Concrete Angel to a rapturous reception from the still fairly busy room; but when he dropped Armin van Buuren – This Is What It Feels Like, I decided that it was time to head for the night bus home.

This was another busy and highly enjoyable Voodoo night and I gather that the following week’s Ummet Ozcan show was even busier and a great success. Hopefully they can keep this momentum going into 2014 and there will be many more great nights to come!

Once again thank you to Luke Davids Photography for the use of his fantastic photos!

