Image
The second helping of trance this weekend was courtesy of Digital Therapy – the best boutique trance night in Sydney. Following up on Friday’s main course of Mark Sherry and Indecent Noise at Voodoo was Saturday’s dessert of a Headf**k, courtesy of Ben Nicky.

And so we headed into the city and towards the Civic Undergound, which has long been my favourite nightspot in Sydney. I was looking forward to a great night, confident that the reason behind his very disappointing set at the Greenwood Hotel in October was the strange set time he had been allocated, rather than anything else. In fact, that set had been pretty good for early evening – it’s just that early evening is not Ben Nicky’s natural environment.

Image
Warming up the night were first Nick Shepherd and then Big J – and they got the dancefloor going as the club filled up nicely. At this point, I think I need to be critical of the Civic Underground for the very first time. There is a big hole in the dancefloor that not only puts you off your step, but also risks toppling you over onto nearby clubbers. I first noticed this back in December and six months on, I think it’s getting a lot worse. Time to rip up the floor and fix the problem, I would suggest!

Image
Midnight came and it was time for Big J to end his set with the classic, Andy Moor vs. Lange – Stadium 4, and hand over to Ben Nicky for the next two hours. His style is to play a lot of remixes and reworkings of 138/140 BPM trance hits, mashing and mixing them in the style he calls “head**k”. And that’s what we got – and lots of it. Markus Schulz feat. Fiora – Deep In The Night, Too Many Artists – Eat Sleep Rave Repeat (Ben Nicky 140 Headf**k), Eddie Bitar vs Filo & Peri, Aruna & Morph – Ashley (Ben Nicky Psy Mashup), Binary Finary – 1998 (James Dymond Remix), Tiesto & Eddie Bitar – Lethal Rollercoaster (Ben Nicky Headf**k), Astrix vs Gareth Emery & John O’Callaghan – Concrete Mel (Ben Nicky’s Psy Headfuck Mashup), Gareth Emery – U (Bryan Kearney Remix), Luke Bond feat. Roxanne Emery – On Fire (Aly & Fila Remix), Above & Beyond vs. Simon Patterson – Sun and Bulldozer (Ben Nicky 140bpm Headf**k), Armin van Buuren – Ping Pong (Simon Patterson Remix), Commander Tom – Are Am I (John Askew Remix) … to name just a few. It was fast, furious and, I guess, headf**king! I loved every minute. The dancefloor was packed right through till the time he finished up and handed over to T-Bird for her birthday set.

Image
Alongside T-Bird was the night’s surprise addition to the line-up – Matt Bowdidge. They promised us a dark, fast and dirty set to follow on from Ben Nicky and that’s precisely what we got for the next sixty minutes as they kept up the pace. Simon Patterson – Brush Strokes and John Askew – Mechanism were typical of the tunes they played and I thought it was a perfect way to end the night, given that we were unable to stay for the final set of the night, from Matt Spicer.

I realise that I keep saying it, but I just love Digital Therapy and this night was up to their usual high standard. Sadly I missed the last DT, while I was away in SE Asia and will miss the next one by being in Europe. But I’m sure it will be another fantastic night.

 

Thanks as always, to Luke Davids Photography for the awesome photos.

