13076761_10156941352290601_5707457212286580647_n
Last year’s May Goes Mental night at Home nightclub had been such fun that this year’s instalment had been on the must-do list ever since it was confirmed. And what a way to finish off the mental month of May, that had included the double dose of Solarstone open-to-close and the Outburst night, where I had enjoyed Alex Di Stefano’s set so much!

Mental Asylum is the brainchild and label of Poland’s Indecent Noise, known for his uncompromising, no-holds-barred style of trance. This year he brought Lostly and Eddie Bitar with him to complete the bill and we arrived just as Lostly began his set. Hailing from South Africa, but now based in Germany, he’s not a producer I know well, or a DJ I’ve seen/heard before. So it was interesting to discover his sound and it was one that definitely appealed to me.


There was a lot about the set that wasn’t familiar to me, and I was distracted at one stage, chatting to Aleks (Indecent Noise) about our top 100 tunes. But I did recognise Kyau & Albert – Kiksu, Dogzilla – Without You and Underworld – Born Slippy.NUXX. As ever, the sound and visuals were spectacular and this really got me in the mood for the night’s main event.


I’ve seen Indecent Noise several times over the last few years and always enjoyed his music. This time was definitely my favourite set of his I’ve heard live – and not just because he dropped a few of the tunes we’d been talking about earlier!  He played Ernesto vs. Bastian – Dark Side Of The Moon, Sunscreem  – Please Save Me (James Dymond Remix), Kaycee – Escape, Cosmic Gate – Fire Wire (Indecent Noise Remix), Simon Patterson & Magnus – Evoke, Tiësto – Traffic, Energy 52 – Café del Mar, Salt Tank – Eugina mashed with Age Of Love – The Age Of Love, Armin van Buuren – Communication, Solarstone – Seven Cities, Ferry Corsten – Beautiful (Aly & Fila Remix), Sunlounger feat. Zara – Lost and Ayla – Ayla (DJ Taucher Remix).


We didn’t catch much of Eddie Bitar before we decided to call it a night. After such a wonderful month for trance in Sydney, not forgetting our FIFO* trip to Melbourne for the eight-hour Solarstone set, we were sated and exhausted. We will definitely take our foot off the accelerator for a few weeks at least, before the fun of Luminosity Beach Festival at the end of this month. But yet again, Voodoo and Mental Asylum had combined to deliver a really good night and I’m already looking forward to next year’s opportunity to don our straightjackets!

 

*For my non Aussie readers, FIFO stands for Fly In Fly Out.